Azer Bestavros is William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor in the Computer Science Department at Boston University, which he joined in 1991 and chaired from 2000 to 2007. He is the Founding Director of the BU Hariri Institute for Computing, set up in 2011 to support "a community of scholars who believe in the transformative potential of computational perspectives in research and education." In this capacity, he led major university initiatives, including chairing the Data Science Initiative launched in 2014 to "leverage BU’s strength and expand its capacity to lead in the Big Data revolution", co-chairing the Data Science Taskforce charged in 2018 with development of "a vision that further advances BU’s capabilities as a research and education leader in computing and data sciences",  co-chairing the Council on Educational Technology & Learning Innovation tasked in 2012 with "development of BU's strategy for leveraging on-line technology in residential programs", and leading BU's role in the conception of the Massachusetts Green High-Performance Computing Center and co-chairing its research, education, and outreach mission since 2010. 

Dr. Bestavros pursues research in networking, distributed computing, and high-assurance systems. His seminal contributions include pioneering studies of web push caching through content distribution networks, self-similar Internet traffic characterization, game-theoretic cloud resource management, and safety certification of networked systems and software. His currently active projects are focused on design, development, and real-world deployment of Scalable Secure Multi-Party Computation in support of privacy-preserving big-data analytics. As of 2019, funded by over $40M from government and industry sponsors, his research yielded 19 PhD theses, 8 issued patents, 2 startups, and hundreds of refereed papers with over 20,000 citations according to Google Scholar

Dr. Bestavros has a long track record of service to the research community. Most recently, he chaired the 2019 and co-chaired the 2014 CISE Committee of Visitors review of NSF operation and processes; served on the inaugural advisory board of the congressional Cloud Computing Caucus set up in 2013 to raise public awareness and educate lawmakers on cloud technologies; and served for seven years until 2012 as chair of the IEEE Computer Society TC on the Internet. He is currently on the editorial board of Communications of the ACM as co-editor of its Research Highlights, which publishes the most-influential and most-read articles in CS. He is frequently tapped for plenary presentations, federal and local government agency briefings, and media coverage related to contemporary issues at the nexus of computing, society, and public policy.

Dr. Bestavros received a number of awards for distinguished teaching, research, and service, most notably the ACM Sigmetrics Inaugural Test of Time Award for 1996 work "whose impact is still felt 15 years after its initial publication" and the 2010 United Methodist Scholar Teacher Award in recognition of "outstanding dedication and contributions to the learning arts and to the institution." In 2017, he was named a William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor, the highest distinction bestowed upon senior faculty members at Boston University for “representing our community with distinction, enriching the academic experience for our students, and raising our stature as a major research university.” 

Dr. Bestavros held visiting appointments at Harvard University, Institut Eurecom in Sophia Antipolis (France), Deutsche Telekom in Berlin (Germany), Telefonica Research in Barcelona (Spain), KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm (Sweden), American University in Cairo (Egypt), and the American University in Beirut (Lebanon). He obtained his B.Sc. (1984) and M.Sc. (1987) in Computer Science from Alexandria University, Egypt, and his A.M. (1988) and PhD (1992) in Computer Science from Harvard University, under Thomas E. Cheatham, one of the "roots" of the academic genealogy of applied computer scientists.